2023 TechWomen Awards Winners Announced!

Alliance News, TechWomen TechGirls |

The TechWomen Awards honor three exceptional women in the technology industry – Tech Student of the Year, Tech Educator of the Year, and Tech Professional of the Year – for their achievements and contributions in the field in 2023. Honorees have demonstrated a commitment to supporting STEM/Technology education and advancing the role of women and girls in technology.


Tech Student of the Year: Bhumika Prem

Bhumika Prem, a TEDx speaker, is a sophomore at Phillips Exeter Academy and lives in Seacoast, NH. She’s passionate about STEAM, women’s empowerment, community service, public speaking, and DEI-related issues in her community. To further these interests, Bhumika founded the STEAM club (A(rt): More Possibilities in STEM) and is the co-head of the Exeter Research club. With both these clubs, she aims to bridge the gap between STEM and the arts while pursuing her interest in research. Bhumika is exploring her interests in the bioinformatics space by working with esteemed researchers in the field, and she is currently working towards publishing her research. As co-head of Junior Computer Programming and Robotics for Kids and a tutor for Girls Who Code, Bhumika has the opportunity to share her love of technology with others as a part of the same initiatives that first inspired her, and serving her community. She is a volunteer at the Portsmouth Regional Hospital and an Ambassador for the ENGin Program, where she teaches younger Ukrainian children a computer science curriculum, again combining STEM, her love of teaching and working with kids, and living the values of Non-Sibi, meaning “not for oneself.” Outside of academics, she is a student leader on campus as a part of H4, a peer education group focusing on mental health awareness and advocacy. Bhumika also enjoys painting and displaying her art in local exhibits, reading, writing poetry and is an aspiring globetrotter.


Tech Educator of the Year: Christina DiMicelli

Christina DiMicelli (she/her) is the Director of EdTech Learning & Growth at Pinkerton Academy in Derry, NH (the largest independent high school in the U.S.) with 15+ years of experience in education.  She currently serves on the NHSTE board as the Professional Learning Chair, works with CMTC as the Social Media Ambassador, and is a Google Certified Trainer, Google Innovator #LAX18, & ISTE Certified Educator / Community Leader.  She has been in the classroom with preK through grade 8, built and facilitated a Makerspace, is an experienced trainer, and now works with high school faculty to enhance the student learning experience.  Interested in Mind, Brain, and Teaching along with the possibilities technology brings to education (especially in the genAI space), Christina loves to spark ideas and help others innovate their educational practice.


Tech Professional of the Year: Maureen Toohey

Maureen K. Toohey, Deputy Executive Director & Secretary of the Board at ARMI, and Founder of the Toohey Law Group, brings a wealth of experience and expertise to the fields of biotechnology and intellectual property. In her role at ARMI, Maureen spearheads collaborative efforts between industry, government, and academia to advance large-scale manufacturing of engineered tissues and related technologies. With a background as an entrepreneur and intellectual property specialist, Maureen fosters innovation and drives economic growth within ARMI’s dynamic ecosystem.

As the founding member of the Toohey Law Group LLC, Maureen provides strategic counsel on intellectual property protection and management, overseeing portfolio prosecution and litigation. Previously, she served as General Counsel for DEKA Research & Development Corporation and practiced at Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP in Silicon Valley.

Maureen holds a B.S. in Chemistry from the United States Naval Academy and a J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law. She remains active in professional organizations such as the Federal Circuit Bar Association, AIPLA, and ABA’s IP Law Section. Additionally, Maureen serves as an advisor to FIRST, inspiring the next generation of scientists and engineers.


“The TechWomen Awards are a crucial piece of promoting women in technology,” said Julie Demers, Executive Director of the NH Tech Alliance. “We are excited to honor Bhumika, Christina and Maureen as our TechWomen of the Year. By sharing their stories and achievements we hope to inspire the next generation and make sure they know that anything is possible.”

The TechWomen Award winners will be honored on May 16th at the TechWomen Connect and Awards. The awards reception will be a must-attend for women in technology, featuring fun and interactive activities, delicious food and drinks and networking opportunities. 

The event will be held at the Fidelity offices in Merrimack with the support of Fidelity’s Women in Technology Special Interest Group. Attendees will learn about the incredible work being done by the three award winners. Tickets are now available. Register by clicking the button below!